minireviews

I’ve read a lot of books lately, and I’ve only reviewed a few of them. There are so many awesome books out there that I’d like to share with you, so I decided to do a quick series of mini reviews since, you know, I need to foist my opinions on someone. Be prepared for quick reviews, and lots of books!

Stitching Snow by R.C. Lewis

Rating: 5 stars

Ah, let’s start of on a positive note. I received this one as a birthday gift, and completely adored it! The main character, Essie, is brave and intelligent, and I really wish there was a sequel so I could learn more about her. At first, I wasn’t sure about the romance. Dane just seemed too…convenient. Once the plot (and the characters) started to develop a little more, though, I changed my mind.

This book reminds me a lot of the Lunar Chronicles (by Marissa Meyer). I think it would a great read for fans of that series, and of strong heroines in general!

The Geography of Me and You by Jennifer E. Smith

Rating: 2 stars

I was super excited to read this one, especially after I heard a few positive things about it earlier last year. Unfortunately, it didn’t work for me. My main issue was that there was no plot. Lucy and Owen spend one day together, and then go their separate ways. Later, they occasionally meet up and exchange letters. There was no real conflict, and a half-hearted romance just didn’t cut it for me.

If you’ve read Jennifer’s other books and enjoyed them, though, you might wish to give this one a try.

The Jewel by Amy Ewing

Rating: 3.5 stars

I have conflicted feelings about this! There were some aspects I loved: the fabulous cover, the intriguing world-building, the frightening villain, etc. Other things, like the romance, weren’t as big of a hit. Violet falls in love with Ash, the love interest, mere moments after meeting him. They kiss a few times, and then start declaring their love for each other.

Overall, a decent book, though. I liked everything else (the storyworld was so cool!) but the romance really brought down the rating. I do think I will read the sequel though, especially if the cover is just as nice.

Seraphina by Rachel Hartman

Rating: 4.5 stars

Oh, how I adored this book! The beginning was a little slow, but otherwise I have no complaints. The world-building was done incredibly well. In this world, the dragons and humans reached a peace treaty decades ago, but the humans still resent dragon-kind and rebellion is stirring. Seraphina, the main character and the palace music master’s assistant, is half-dragon, and this makes the world very dangerous for her.

Seraphina herself was one of the best main characters that I’ve read this year. She’s not just strong, but she is also really thoughtful and dedicated to doing what she believes is right. The romance with Prince Lucian was great as well! I’m definitely anticipating the sequel.

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Rating: 3 stars

I wanted to love We Were Liars, I really did. I had heard nothing but positive feedback about it, and the premise sounded really cool. My main problem was that I felt very disconnected from the story. It was written in a unique style, almost in verse, which made me struggle to follow the plot and connect with the characters. The main character, Cadence, felt very immature and needy.

I did really enjoy the concept of “a rich family on a private island with secrets,” though. If you’re interested in the premise, then I think it might be worth it for you to check We Were Liars out! 3 stars.

17 Comments on To All The Books I Forgot To Review… | Mini Reviews

  1. Lakin
    February 12, 2015 at 2:08 am (2 years ago)

    Wow, that was a lot of mini reviews, but I loved them! Stitching Snow is a book that I have been wanting to rea since it came out, but it kind o got pushed back on my list. I’m glad you enjoyed it!
    Lakin recently posted…Waiting on Wednesday: A Wicked Thing by Rhiannon ThomasMy Profile

    Reply
    • Samantha
      February 15, 2015 at 3:26 pm (2 years ago)

      No! Stitching Snow is awesome! You should definitely give it a shot.

      Reply
  2. Ana @ Butterflies of the Imagination
    February 12, 2015 at 2:57 am (2 years ago)

    I loved Seraphina so much, and I rated it 4.5 stars as well, I thought it was a little bit slow at the beginning and there was something kind of separating me from the Seraphina. However, the book just got better and better near the end because it really picked up the pace, and I did not see that twist at the end coming at all. I also loved how much depth the world building had. I NEED THE SEQUEL NOW! It’s too bad you didn’t really like We Were Liars. I loved that book for its unique writing style and its shocking ending, but especially the writing style. I thought it was so gorgeous and unique.
    Ana @ Butterflies of the Imagination recently posted…When Music and Writing CollideMy Profile

    Reply
    • Samantha
      February 15, 2015 at 3:27 pm (2 years ago)

      I have the sequel sitting on my bedside table right now, and it is calling my name! I think I may read it next…

      Reply
  3. Fari @My Little Corner of Books
    February 12, 2015 at 3:41 am (2 years ago)

    I NEED to read Stitching Snow! I’ve heard so many good things about it PLUS it’s a stand alone and AH! I NEED!!

    I just… don’t do dragons. They’re not my thing at all…. D: I can’t. Nope.

    I really want to read We Were Liars! People Hate it, People Like it, people are meeeehhhhh… I want to see where I stand! 😀

    I don’t really plan on reading the Jewel. I have a feeling I won’t really like it too much and I have no interest in starting series that I probably won’t like, especially when only the first book’s out…

    You had a few ups and a few downs in this post! Hope your next read is awesome! 😀
    ~Fari 0:)
    Fari @My Little Corner of Books recently posted…My Grabby Hands Shan’t Rest Until Magonia’s In Them! (WOW #14)My Profile

    Reply
    • Samantha
      February 15, 2015 at 3:28 pm (2 years ago)

      It was definitely an up-and-down post! Alas. AND FARI GO READ STITCHING SNOW RIGHT NOW IT IS SO GOOOOD.

      Reply
  4. Daisy @ A Bookish Flower
    February 12, 2015 at 5:52 am (2 years ago)

    I need to read these. I’ll give anything a try once. I’ve heard of “We were liars” but never really looked into it. It sounds great from what I’ve heard but then there’s also those mehh reviews. I need to read it to see where I stand with it.
    Fantasy isn’t really my thing. I just don’t do fantasy, but Seraphina sounds great:D
    I also have SO many review I started but never finished. I really need to get to those….
    Daisy @ A Bookish Flower recently posted…Bookworms Dream/ TBR listMy Profile

    Reply
    • Samantha
      February 15, 2015 at 3:28 pm (2 years ago)

      Yeah, I don’t really like dragon books either, but Seraphina was very good!

      Reply
  5. Cynthia
    February 12, 2015 at 7:27 am (2 years ago)

    Stitching Snow sounds awesome! I really liked We Were Liars, but I get why you felt disconnected. The writing style does take some getting used to and it took me a bit to get into it.
    Cynthia recently posted…BOOK REVIEW: Positively Beautiful by Wendy MillsMy Profile

    Reply
    • Samantha
      February 15, 2015 at 3:29 pm (2 years ago)

      I am so sad I didn’t like We Were Liars. So sad. *cries*

      Reply
    • Samantha
      February 15, 2015 at 3:30 pm (2 years ago)

      Whoa, thanks so much! Unfortunately, I don’t really have time to do this now, but I WISH. I really appreciate the nomination though!

      Reply
    • Samantha
      February 15, 2015 at 3:30 pm (2 years ago)

      Yep, pretty much!

      Reply
    • Samantha
      February 15, 2015 at 3:31 pm (2 years ago)

      Yep. pretty much!

      Reply
    • Samantha
      February 15, 2015 at 3:31 pm (2 years ago)

      READ STITCHING SNOW NOW PLEASE.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comment *






CommentLuv badge