bookheaderwarmup

Review

Disclaimer: Review copy received from publisher. This in no way affected my opinion or review.

Jasmine is a dancer whose dance group is struggling to rekindle their love of dance. I liked her enough, but she seemed a tad underdeveloped, just too nice and cheerful. She didn’t stand-out for me. On the other hand, I appreciated many of the other characters like Miss Carina, Jasmine’s dance teacher. At the start, she’s very strict but she learns to loosen up a little by the end. Her character journey is great.

There is a little bit of romance in this novel, between the main character, Jasmine and her guy friend. I don’t usually enjoy love stories, but this romance was very cute! Jasmine’s “boyfriend” is a very quirky and funny character and I liked how their friendship comes before romance. The romance wasn’t the focus in Warm Up, even though I really enjoyed it.

20140617-165122.jpg

This book is quite short at less than 150 pages, but I enjoyed it nonetheless. It is a sweet, feel-good story and sometimes that’s just what we need! This book will probably interest readers 10-12, particularly dancers that will relate to their situation. In my opinion, Warm Up would be great for readers of Karen Krossing and Frances O’Roark Dowell.

GIF verdict

4 Comments on {Review} Warm Up by Sara Leach

  1. chloe_@freeasagirlwithwings
    June 26, 2014 at 12:38 am (3 years ago)

    Sometimes I like to re-read a nice fairytale-esque story with an obvious happily-ever-after ending. Especially if I’m having trouble, it’s nice to know that maybe my life will be like a book. Maybe.

    Reply
    • Samantha
      June 26, 2014 at 12:27 pm (3 years ago)

      I completely agree. Sometimes you just need a comforting book to curl up with, which I why I appreciate Warm Up. Great to see you again, Chloe!

      Reply
  2. Danny46
    July 4, 2014 at 12:57 am (3 years ago)

    This book looks really really good! I’m going toB&N to morrow anyways so I’m getting this and maybe some other Limeloghts books.

    Reply
    • Samantha
      July 4, 2014 at 8:50 pm (3 years ago)

      Yay! Hope you enjoy it. If you have a blog, feel free to link me to it if you put up a review. I would love to hear your thoughts.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comment *






CommentLuv badge