thedarkestmindsHave you read The Darkest Minds trilogy? No? Well then, what are you waiting for?
*Waits*
What, so you can’t just take my word for it? You actually want me to prove it to you? Gosh, fine. Today I’m going to share a few reasons why I adore the Darkest Minds trilogy by Alexandra Bracken, and why you should read them as well.

1. Concept AND execution!

A disease has taken over America. Only the new generation has been victimized and as a consequence, they’ve all gained inhuman powers, like telekinesis and mind control. The government has put them in horrible camps for their “own safety.” It’s not a super unique concept (at least the terrible disease part wasn’t), but the execution was amazing! Alexandra Bracken really brought this concept to life!

2. Stellar protagonist!

Ruby is an Orange, one of the most dangerous teens, and she’s worried about hurting the people around her. She’s not sure she can trust herself around others, and this is something she struggles with throughout the series. Ruby always neverfadewants to do the right thing, and she was very admirable. Certainly, I wouldn’t handle things nearly as well in her situation!

3. ROMANCEEEEEE!

GUYS GUYS GUYS THIS ROMANCE WAS SO CUTE EEK. In the first book, Liam (one of the other teens on the run) develops feelings for Ruby. Ruby isn’t sure she can trust him because she has been betrayed so many times, at first. It started off quite slow, but it was still adorable and one of my favorite parts throughout this series.

 4. The writing!

I love Alexandra Bracken’s writing style. It’s very descriptive so it is easy to immerse yourself in the story. These books did take longer than usual to read because of this, but I still consider it a positive! The writing really suits the story that is being told here.

intheafterlightThey were never scared of the kids who might die, or the empty spaces they would leave behind. They were afraid of us––the ones who lived. – The Darkest Minds

5. Consistent amazingness

After reading The Darkest Minds, I was worried that the rest of the trilogy wouldn’t live up to my expectations! A lot of trilogies suffer something that some people like to call “second book syndrome.” The Darkest Minds trilogy is impressive because all of the books are equally entertaining and gripping.

————————————————————————–

All in all, this is a fantastic trilogy and I highly recommend it. I think it’s fantastic for fans of Marie Lu, Tahereh Mafi, and Veronica Rossi. The adorable romance, fierce main character, and brilliant execution are sure to please!

 

5 Comments on Why I Love The Darkest Minds Trilogy

  1. Ana @ Butterflies of the Imagination
    May 11, 2015 at 5:30 pm (2 years ago)

    I haven’t looked into this trilogy much, but it seems pretty interesting. I do enjoy descriptive writing when it’s used the right way so I’m glad these books feature that. A lot of times descriptive writing can add so much depth to a story. It’s also nice to hear that Ruby is such a great protagonist. She sounds like someone I could really connect with because I have some similar insecurities.
    Ana @ Butterflies of the Imagination recently posted…Interview With Anne Blankman, Author of Prisoner of Night and Fog and Conspiracy of Blood and SmokeMy Profile

    Reply
  2. Valerie
    May 11, 2015 at 9:02 pm (2 years ago)

    I DO SO BADLY want to read The Darkest Minds! Just the whole “superpowers” concept drags me in. I don’t know why I haven’t gotten into it yet. I just have a lot of series to finish haha.
    Valerie recently posted…ARC Review: Crimson BoundMy Profile

    Reply
  3. Kara @ Diary of a Teen Writer
    May 12, 2015 at 3:21 am (2 years ago)

    I agree 100% with you!!! I have only read the first two in the series — though I have been meaning to read the third when I get a chance… in other words, when my TBR pile allows me to — but I’ve enjoyed them both. Brilliant storyline. Brilliant characters. Brilliant writing. One of the few dystopians I actually LIKE.
    Kara @ Diary of a Teen Writer recently posted…Blogging Consistency | How Often Do You Blog?My Profile

    Reply
  4. Sunny Smith
    May 12, 2015 at 6:18 am (2 years ago)

    I’ve never even heard of this series! It sounds interesting though, and I’m always will to give something a try when I see such a glowing review.

    Also, I love you header and the pages bar. It all looks so nice!
    Sunny Smith recently posted…The Bookshelf Link-Up: Sunny’s Entry!My Profile

    Reply
  5. Ellie
    May 26, 2015 at 8:58 am (2 years ago)

    Wait…so there ARE other teen book bloggers who love TDM? I was beginning to think I was the only one! TDM is SO FREAKING AMAZING. I love it for the exact same reasons (well, except maybe the romance…)

    Ellie
    http://thespellboundreader.blogspot.com
    Ellie recently posted…TCWT May Blog ChainMy Profile

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comment *






CommentLuv badge